Meet the Team, Part 5: Alyssa!

As you’re getting settled into a brand new week, we have some exciting news to share with you – we have a new staff member here at MHFACO! We could think of no better way to start off a Monday morning than to introduce you to Alyssa, our awesome new intern. In her blog posts, she’ll be sharing stories of mental health and substance use. She’s excited to share her own stories, but she also wants to involve you, the readers. She wants to post your stories too, as she know there are many untold stories that should be shared. So, take a few minutes out of your morning to get to know Alyssa!

Alyssa

Name: Alyssa Arnpriester

Role: Intern

Hometown: Arvada, Colorado

Favorite color: Black

What brought you to Mental Health First Aid Colorado? Reason 1: I think it is important to talk about mental health and illnesses. I would like to gain more knowledge on how to talk to both strangers and people who are close to me about mental health and illness. I want to be able to give people who are struggling with a mental health illness and drug abuse the resources they can use. Reason 2: I would like to help get the word out and that there are people and organizations that can help people who are struggling with mental illness. I do not like the stigma surrounding these topics. I think it is important to have conversations about them and to try to help people who may need it. Reason 3: I am majoring in criminal justice and psychology at UNC. I need an internship to complete my degree, and what better way to do it than here? I am not sure in what direction I want to go in at the moment. I am hoping I will find my direction here working at Mental Health First Aid Colorado.

What is your favorite part about working here? So far, everyone has been very nice and helpful. They are all willing to answer any questions I have and they are willing to help with any problems I may be having. It is great to have an opportunity to work with people who want to help people realize that it is okay to have depression, anxiety, bipolar, or any other mental health illness. I can’t wait to get started and be a part of the group.

Describe a time when you used MHFA or YMHFA strategies: I have many friends and family members that have mental health and substance abuse issues. There is no one story that is more important than the next. Describing just one instance is almost impossible because I can share so many experiences.

If you could assign a superpower to ALGEE the Koala, what would it be?  Ummm… I think it would be cool if it had the power to change into other animals, so it can turn into a person’s favorite animal when they are feeling low.

Leave a Reply

